Does the Bible really say____ ?

“God will never allow you to take more than you can bear.”  

I’ve heard it at least once per week of my adult life. I’ve heard many well meaning person who tries to encourage someone going through hard times “The Bible says” and give the above statement.  However, the statement is not found in Scripture. It DOES say in 1 Cor 10:13 that He won’t let us be TEMPTED with sin more than we can bear. There is a HUGE difference, however between the pressures of life and being tempted of the sin that Christ died to free you from.

First, who are we to play “God’s favorite” above another believer?  Believers of Christ all over the world are being beheaded, burned alive, stoned, hanged, dismembered, and are going hungry. What makes us American Christians better than them to not be able to go through a home foreclosure, an illness, or some other hardship?

Can I suggest this thought? We probably CAN’T bear these things on our own, but HE can!  When Christ is Lord of your life, you are no longer in charge anyway.  I’m not saying to be irresponsible and not pay your bills, or not fight for your marriage. I AM saying when you let Christ be in the drivers seat, there is great relief!  You may go through hell on earth, but you don’t have to go through it alone.  You may have a death sentence of cancer, but you won’t die alone.  You may lose your home, but you won’t be alone! He will never leave you, nor forsake you.

Here’s what Christ DID say:

Matthew 11:28-30 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

I believe, when we are dealing with pressure that IS too heavy. Often the problem is that we are carrying a load that isn’t ours to carry anymore. It’s not the load He’s giving you.  His yoke is easy, His burden is light. He’s giving you rest!  Even in the worst times, when you relinquish the pressures of your home, your kids, your spouse, your job, and take on the pressure of simply following Him – you will find rest.

