And behind door number 3…

I’ve been thinking and praying some about doors lately, and want to share on here some thoughts.  I’ll begin with some Scripture out of the book of Revelation, chapter 3, verses 7&8

7 “To the angel of the church in Philadelphia write:

These are the words of him who is holy and true, who holds the key of David. What he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open. 8 I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut.

Most of us talk about God opening a door for us.  I pray often for God to open doors for me that no man can shut, and close doors that no man can open.  I personally don’t see anything wrong with that, because Scripture says that Jesus does that and holds the key.

I don’t know about you, but for some reason I keep getting the thought in my mind of the game show “Let’s Make a Deal” where Monty Hall presents the contestant with 3 doors, and when they choose the right one, then they win a big prize.  They have a 33% chance of picking the prize, but have to second guess after thy chose as the host opens one of the other doors and gives them the option of swapping their choice.  I would stink at that game, just because I am so indecisive.

The problem with my thinking is that the church of Philadelphia was not being faced with an array of choices of doors. Choosing between three doors, isn’t faith, it’s a gamble! In fact it wasn’t a choice whether to go through that door.  It was just one door, and it was open.

Why did Jesus place an open door before them?

Rev 3:8(b)… I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.

They kept His word and did not deny His Name.  Think about that statement.  We can think of keeping His Word as obedience, and be partly right.   However, there is that part of not denying His Name.  Because it is the book of Revelation, we tend to discount that as being something to do with walking away from the faith, however this was in the part of Revelation where letters to the churches were being written BEFORE the tribulation was discussed.

All authority belongs to Christ  (Matt 28:18).   His Name is above every name, and every knee will bown down at HIS NAME (Phil 2).

God’s Word is the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the message we are to preach, and make disciples from.  When God says something, His promises are Yes and Amen (2 cor 1:20).  They are sure and true.  If He commanded us to go into all the world teaching and discipling, then the fact that we will do this is His WORD to the nations!

If we are ambassadors, those representing Christ’s authority here on earth, we are to keep His Word!

Where I believe we are seeing doors of blessing, recognition, and confirmation not being opened before us is when we aren’t keeping His word and taking His Name (authority) in vain (another blog post is coming on that one). We are walking in His authority, which means we represent Christ on earth.  When we aren’t doing what He said, then we are telling the lost world that His Word isn’t true.

What the church of Philadelphia did, was they took ownership of the authority given to them, and did what the Word said they would do, even though they were tired and weak.

So the mystery of getting God to open a door for us is not really a mystery at all!  He opens the door when you walk this earth in Christ’s authority, keeping His promises true.

Something else I think about when I think about a door being opened…

Matthew 7:7  … Knock and the door will be opened to you.

Jesus is teaching how to live by faith.  He is telling us to ask, seek, and knock – then the answer WILL come.  Faith that we are who He says we are is what causes us to boldly knock on that door.  Since you know what is behind that door is for you, knock and it will open!  Walking in Christ’s authority, doing what His Word said takes faith.  We worry so much about whether what is behind the door is for us or not, that we fret about whether to knock or not.  Jesus said knock and it WILL be opened.  The question isn’t about the door, the question is about ourself.  I don’t need faith to knock as much as I need faith to be in the authority and mandate that He said I’m in!

I believe that when we really know we are and what our mandate is, then knocking will come naturally, as will open doors.

Tagged , , , ,
The Pastor's Desk

A Pastor's thoughts on life, church, God, & other stuff

social networking ate my blog

or probably I'm just making excuses

Discipleship Avenue

Discipleship Avenue exists to Educate, Equip, and Empower our communities by providing strategic services and resources that meet their needs.

A journal of my faith, family and life

EdStetzer.com

Ed Stetzer writes and speaks on theology, missiology, church planting, church revitalization, and church innovation.

Notes from the Trail

Life, adventure and faith from southwest Virginia

Soul Health Care

Proclaiming Christ as the Great Physician of the Soul

