Grace

I have been literally overwhelmed over the past couple of weeks with thoughts of grace.  Right now I’m reading the book of Romans and studying on the grace of God.  My mind feels like it’s going to explode because it doesn’t have the ability to compute the full reach of His grace, yet I still dig for more.

Here’s one direction my thoughts are taking me:

What should our response be to His grace?  

Obviously doing nothing isn’t the answer.  Sinning so grace could abound (Romans 6) isn’t the answer.  When we look at grace, we must realize that rules, regulations and laws aren’t the goal – instead, our relationship and desire to have a relationship with Someone so loving, so Holy causes us to want to be like Him!  You see in the old covenant the actions were what made us holy.  In the new covenant, the relationship with the Holy one affects our actions (John 14:15).

See, we are in a time when the statement “don’t change for anybody” has become accepted, and it’s a statement that I believe is from the pits of hell!  The Bible says to be transformed by the renewing of our minds (Romans 12:2).  It’s ok to change what you do and even what you have identified yourself as.  Not being willing to change is prideful and arrogant in ANY relationship and requires the other party to do all of the changing and adapting to fit your attitude, habits, and lifestyle.  2 Corinthians 3:18 tells me we can be changed into the image of His Glory!  Do I want to continue as my filthy stinking self, or do I want to be transformed into the image of the One who is everything I need to become?

It seems the common issue the people of God need to be looking into His eyes to be transformed to is GRACE!  Grace is not just something that we argue about to drive our denominational points into the ground.  Grace is a powerful attribute that God has an abundance of that individual Christians don’t seem to possess much of.

Grace is personal.  We have to all take responsibility to walk in a level of grace that says “I value our relationship more that I am concerned about an issue we are having.”  Our pride is what demands the other admit they’re wrong and we are right.  God’s grace proves that you can be the one who is right and still give it.  Personal grace between fallible human beings as leaders AND followers is a MUST!  Holding someone responsible and holding a grudge every time one messes up will tire an relationship.

I’m still studying, and praying.   If there’s anything I can gather from all that the Lord is putting in my heart, its this: “how dare I withhold grace for someone when God has been so gracious to me.”

How about you?  Remember – “God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble” (1 Pet 5:5)

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Grace

  1. Aaron says:

    Very very Nice.

  2. AnthonyNelson says:

    Great stuff! I think you hit on some very important issues central to “change”. Love it! Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.

The Pastor's Desk

A Pastor's thoughts on life, church, God, & other stuff

social networking ate my blog

or probably I'm just making excuses

Discipleship Avenue

Discipleship Avenue exists to Educate, Equip, and Empower our communities by providing strategic services and resources that meet their needs.

A journal of my faith, family and life

EdStetzer.com

Ed Stetzer writes and speaks on theology, missiology, church planting, church revitalization, and church innovation.

Notes from the Trail

Life, adventure and faith from southwest Virginia

Soul Health Care

Proclaiming Christ as the Great Physician of the Soul

