Internet and Wagon Wheels

I heard a preacher say one time, We are reaching an internet generation with wagon wheel methods! How I loved that quote when he said it!  I’m sure I was the loudest amen and the only person in that particular crowd who gave him a standing ovation for that.

Fast forward about 5 years… Assuming EVERYONE has abandoned the “wagon wheel methods” of communicating, I asked our congregation at TLC by show of hands recently how many had email or used Facebook…

Everyone uses Twitter, Facebook, Email, Google, iPhones, broadband Internet and Firefox, don’t they?

Less than half of the people’s hands went up.  How lame! I thought to myself, These people are missing out on so much!

Then a couple of weeks ago, I was alerted to a new church communication software that is being developed that promises to mix church management with social networking while bringing communication to a whole ‘nother level.  I was captivated for two seconds until I remembered the half of our congregation who didn’t put their hands up saying they communicated in these ways online.

I like interacting online.  I’ll be honest, I think I can communicate with people through email, blogs, and social networking much better than I can verbally.  I’m comfortable here – or should I say, I’m safe here.  Yet, we are missing something… half of a congregation who will NEVER read this blog, who will never see the awesome HTML formatted email blast I sent out recently on our Pastor’s behalf.  They won’t read my witty twits.

So, here’s what I want to do:  let’s collaborate our best thoughts on how we can simultaneously minister the same thoughts we communicate through the internet to those who have no desire to touch a computer.  We can’t alienate the one to reach the other.  If my crude Sunday morning show of hands survey is any indication, in a rural town that borders a large city, you’re missing HALF of those you should be reaching in ministry by focusing on one or the other.

Comment away!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Internet and Wagon Wheels

  1. altonwoods says:

    “So, here’s what I want to do: let’s collaborate our best thoughts on how we can simultaneously minister the same thoughts we communicate through the internet to those who have no desire to touch a computer.”

    I do it constantly, I write a blog for people “who do” and simply talk about the very same ideas and perspectives to people who don’t. I find that the writing is an excellent way to congeal my thoughts and that it enables me to be better prepared to minister to people personally.

    One thing we can’t forget is that the greater part of communication is non-verbal, and so aside from you-tube postings that aspect doesn’t translate on-line like it does in person.

    I hope my comments are relevant to what you were asking, that can be a dicey thing as well!

    Blessings!

  2. dean says:

    i’m with alton up there. we need to “blog what we mean and mean what we blog” and if we do that, then we’ll back up with our words and actions what we put forth online, so all the people we interact with will get the same message from us in whichever format we happen to be communicating through… (this from the guy who hasn’t written on his own blog in 8 months:)

Comments are closed.

The Pastor's Desk

A Pastor's thoughts on life, church, God, & other stuff

social networking ate my blog

or probably I'm just making excuses

Discipleship Avenue

Discipleship Avenue exists to Educate, Equip, and Empower our communities by providing strategic services and resources that meet their needs.

A journal of my faith, family and life

EdStetzer.com

Ed Stetzer writes and speaks on theology, missiology, church planting, church revitalization, and church innovation.

Notes from the Trail

Life, adventure and faith from southwest Virginia

Soul Health Care

Proclaiming Christ as the Great Physician of the Soul

