Anti-social?

Hebrews 10:23-25 (NKJV) 23 Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, 25 not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching.

My blog has been so negleted over the past couple of years.  I used to blog at least once a week. Then there came MySpace, then Facebook.  I was wowed by the ability to reconnect with people I haven’t spoken with since high school (or even before).  It was so exciting to catch up and have a virtual class reunion with Bible College and High School alumni and those I have known throughout my life without leaving the comfort of wherever I was.

This past week, my eyes were opened to some of the pitfalls of social networking.  Let me start out by saying – I’m not leaving the social networking scene.  It’s a vital tool for ministry and communication in this culture.  Social networking in itself isn’t evil.  Just like most other things we do, it’s how we use social networking that can be good or bad, and we have to recognize it for what it is – and what it is not.

God is a jealous God.   He will not share our affection or attention with anthing or anybody.  I was reminded of this when I woke up one morning recently, and the first thing I did was check Facebook on my phone.  Then I realized the last thing I did the night before was check it before my eyes slammed shut in exhaustion.  Then my mind raced back to so many mornings and nights that went the exact same way.  I would sit in front of facebook clicking “refresh” over and over, but not thinking about how the Holy Spirit wanted priority to have the opportunity refresh ME.    To be honest, it was one of the most convicting moments I have had in quite some time.  

If you spend time networking online feeding your mind with online gossip, but don’t spend ample time with the Lord, and feeding your spirit with the Word, you will miss what is really important.  God wants to be first in our lives.  If anything stands in the way, we should cut it out of your life – at least temporarily until we get priorities straight! 

Matthew 5:30  “And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to go into hell.” 

Facebook is not more important than your relationship with the Lord.  If you can’t shut it off appropriately, get a friend you can trust to change your password for you and instruct them to not set it back until an agreed upon time. 

Then later that day, the Holy Spirit began to deal with me on how, although we talk to people on facebook, and even may chat real-time – we so often neglect real relationships and accept Facebook information from status messages or wall posts as “knowing” one another. 

Again, Facebook is an incredible tool for connecting with people, but it can NEVER replace sitting down with someone over a meal or a cup of coffee or a Bible or all three and speaking with them face to face.  I encourage everyone reading this, don’t let the superficial “friendships” on social networking sites be the only way you get to know people.  Make a point to spend time with people you normally don’t, and have some real conversation and some real time of caring for them. 

2 Corinthians 4:18 “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

Facebook or MySpace in many ways is just a toy!  So why do we treat it like it is really how things are and turn to it before really reaching out and touching someone with our words from our voice.   You have friends and family who need to hear your voice, need to see the sparkle in your eye, or need to feel the warmth of your touch. Likewise, you have a God who so wants to spend time with you and share with you what is on His heart.  Let’s truly those things which are temporary for what they are and invest our time and lives into those things which do last forever.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Anti-social?

  1. Jim Whaley says:

    Oh, I’ve missed reading this blog! What a way to come back! And I totally agree. I, personally have become addicted with social media. It seems each direction I try to withdraw from, only draws me deeper in another. I’m focusing right now on backing away from Facebook…it’s a time consumer, and it just gets away from you…fast! Great Word!

Comments are closed.

The Pastor's Desk

A Pastor's thoughts on life, church, God, & other stuff

social networking ate my blog

or probably I'm just making excuses

Discipleship Avenue

Discipleship Avenue exists to Educate, Equip, and Empower our communities by providing strategic services and resources that meet their needs.

A journal of my faith, family and life

EdStetzer.com

Ed Stetzer writes and speaks on theology, missiology, church planting, church revitalization, and church innovation.

Notes from the Trail

Life, adventure and faith from southwest Virginia

Soul Health Care

Proclaiming Christ as the Great Physician of the Soul

