Idea vs Ideal

Here’s a rant for the day:

PLEASE, PEOPLE, STOP MIS-USING THE WORD IDEAL!!!

Examples:

Improper: “Hey, that’s a good ideal!” (referring to a thought)
Proper: “This is an ideal way of of getting your point across”
or: “I refuse to compromise any of my ideals”

The correct word for the improper example above is IDEA.

Dictionary on the words:

Idea  
Ideal 

It’s just like how people get sense and since wrong, or to and too in the wrong places (NOT me TO! – It’s me TOO!).

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Idea vs Ideal

  1. dean says:

    ok, you got me started now! a guy i used to work with… has a master’s degree at that… makes that blunder all the time using ideal for idea. but my all time favorite seems to be a southern thing, because i never heard this before i moved from NJ to MS… and i thought it may just be a MS thing, but i know i’ve heard it in arkansas too. when people talk about their driver’s license, they always refer to it as a them… “have you seen my driver’s license? i have no idea what i did with them.” apparently these folks must believe that if there was only one, it would be a “licen.”

    such a small thing, but 34 years later, it still gets on my nerves! check this out…

Comments are closed.

The Pastor's Desk

A Pastor's thoughts on life, church, God, & other stuff

social networking ate my blog

or probably I'm just making excuses

Discipleship Avenue

Discipleship Avenue exists to Educate, Equip, and Empower our communities by providing strategic services and resources that meet their needs.

A journal of my faith, family and life

EdStetzer.com

Ed Stetzer writes and speaks on theology, missiology, church planting, church revitalization, and church innovation.

Notes from the Trail

Life, adventure and faith from southwest Virginia

Soul Health Care

Proclaiming Christ as the Great Physician of the Soul

