Salvation by osmosis

My post regarding the focus of your ministry got some great comments last week. This is the reason I blog about these things – to get my thoughts out there, and see what others are thinking. In this I have learned to disagree with and love the SAME people. I always had a fear of disagreement, and the thought of facing people I disagree with verbally. However, I find great freedom and closeness with those I disagree with. The reason is because we all know we disagree anyway, so let’s get it all on the table.

How far is too far when you talk about the “emerging” church movement? When you bring up the term “emerging” or “emergent” people’s thoughts could go many ways. There is great concern rising up in me lately when it comes to the direction churches are going.

This movement of seeker-sensitivity in many ways is going too far. I believe in being culturally-relevant, but I don’t believe in “dulling down” the Gospel to make a sinner more comfortable in their sin! When a pastor won’t give a straight answer when asked about sin on national tv because he doesn’t want to offend anyone, I believe something is wrong! Jesus was up front with the woman at the well in John 4 when it came to her sin – not to condemn her, but to bring her freedom! When Jesus was asked by Nicodemus what he must do to be saved, he didn’t say to continuously hear the word, and be enlightened to the truth – he told him that he must be born again. Jesus gave hard truth when people asked questions, so what makes us think that we should do any different? Again, He never condemned – He exposed the sin and then showed the sinner how to get right.

jonathan-edwards.jpgWhen are the people of God going to get some backbone? When are our influential pulpits going to be once again filled with the likes of Johnathan Edwards preaching messages like “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God” where the conviction was so strong that people were screaming out because they could literally feel the heat of the flames of hell? Instead, we’re tiptoeing through the tulips while people are bound by their sin and by the deception of the increasingly wicked society.

This has become a world where God is no longer revered. I believe that the United States with her acceptance of all religions, and allowing those religions to have credence (even above the religion this nation was founded on), we are increasingly becoming polytheistic. In light of this, there is another movement called a “gospel of inclusion” essentially meaning that all roads (Christian, Muslim, Buddhist, Hindu, etc) lead back to God.

So I guess if you listen to the anti-Scriptural soft-sell message that’s being peddled with ticket sales in arenas, and being “talked about” in many prominent pulpits, you can get go to Heaven no matter what you do, or who you worship. Plus you can attend church and learn 10 ways to have a happier or more prosperous life. Come on, really, let Dr Phil handle the self-help stuff – if you’re a man of God, be the prophetic voice you are supposed to be!

So I know I sound a little critical, I really mean to. It’s time for people to wake up and smell the roses. It’s time for people to begin to recognize this as a “form of Godliness, denying the power thereof.” I like to think of it as “doctrines of devils.” What do you call it?

3 thoughts on “Salvation by osmosis

  1. Jim says:

    First of all, let me say that it’s become very obvious that you are now being spiritually fed…and it looks good on ya! It’s great to see the passion come back!
    I think the term ‘cultural relevance’ is taking a bad rap. So many times, churches are associating this term with your description of ‘duming down the gospel’. And to me, that couldn’t be further from the truth. In its simplicity, cultural relevance is being able to reach different groups of people, each with the same message, though delivered different, with the gospel. It goes back to the old concept of meeting people where they are…spiritually. The Apostle Paul made this term come alive when he said that ‘he must become all things to all people’. And we all know that Paul certainly didn’t dumb down the gospel! Will I ever be an African-American?…NO. Will I ever be a Hispanic?…NO. Will I ever be an emo-boy?…ABSOLUTELY NO! However, I must be able to understand each one, in order to share Christ with them.
    Not everyone will sit through the ‘ol time preaching of pulpit-pounding, corn-shucking, mouth-slobbering preachers. I’m one of them. Even though their delivery techniques work on certain people, it won’t work on all. And until we understand that, we will continue to be frustrated in our attempt to spread the Word.
    That’s why your last post of ‘chosing who you will lose’ is so vital. I’ve learned by doing marriage/pre-marital counceling, that each one must understand the other’s needs. We each have the same needs…security, acceptance, approval, etc. The catch is, that each of us prioritize them in a different way. For example, if I try to fill my wife’s needs according to MY PRIORITY LIST, I’m going to fail miserably. These same rules apply in church…we must understand the OTHER PERSON, then we will understand how to introduce them to Jesus. At that point, we will have just become ‘cultrually relevant’.

  2. dean says:

    this is all so familiar. i’ve had discussions with a friend who turned away from Christianity and became a universalist… i’ve had debates with a former employer who is a primitive baptist… they believe in predestination to the point that if a person is among the “elect”, even if they go their entire life without ever hearing the name of Jesus, they are saved. universalists contend that you can get to heaven via many different ways besides Christ. but Christ Himself emphatically declares “I am the way, the truth and the life… no man comes to the Father except through Me.”

    so pick an “L”… Jesus is either a Liar, a Lunatic, or Lord if universalism or the gospel of inclusion are valid.

  3. dean says:

    glad i came back to this before i closed this tab… i sort of misquoted myself there at the end…

    Jesus is either a Liar or a Lunatic if unversalism or the “gospel of inclusion” are valid…

    if He is Lord (and He is), that nullifies those 2 views…

Comments are closed.

The Pastor's Desk

A Pastor's thoughts on life, church, God, & other stuff

social networking ate my blog

or probably I'm just making excuses

Discipleship Avenue

Discipleship Avenue exists to Educate, Equip, and Empower our communities by providing strategic services and resources that meet their needs.

A journal of my faith, family and life

EdStetzer.com

Ed Stetzer writes and speaks on theology, missiology, church planting, church revitalization, and church innovation.

Notes from the Trail

Life, adventure and faith from southwest Virginia

Soul Health Care

Proclaiming Christ as the Great Physician of the Soul

