The best sound I’ve ever heard

For those of you who know me, you know I’m a nut about church sound.   I’ve set up and run systems most of my life, and am a connoisseur of some sort of church audio systems.  A good mix and sound quality are an obsession for me at any church I attend.

Tonight I’m in Columbus Ohio for a ministerial fellowship meeting going on all day tomorrow. I attended a church service at the host church, which happens to be the same host church of the Bible College I attended for a short time.  This church has been through 4 major sound systems in their 5,200 seat sanctuary.  I heard two of them personally (prior to tonight), and they never had a great sound.  It was either harsh, or you never got the right blend of vocals/band.  Then you had feedback on a weekly basis in both systems.

I read not too long ago that this church had installed a new system that they were really happy with.  The speakers play a huge part of this system’s success. For you audio guys (or people wanting to learn about this stuff) check out this link.

Here’s my semi-professional critique of this new system:

This is my first experience hearing Nexo speakers.  These Geo T tangent array speakers were very small compared to what I expected, but were able to power over a lively crowd of 3000 with ease – and it never sounded too loud.  My ears never rang, because of the smoothness of this system’s response.

Everything was mixed in stereo, and it made for a mix that you could listen to and pick out every instrument while still having clean – intelligible vocals.

So needless to say, the best sounding rig I’ve ever heard large OR small is the Nexo Geo T system at World Harvest Church in Columbus, Ohio.

The Pastor's Desk

A Pastor's thoughts on life, church, God, & other stuff

social networking ate my blog

or probably I'm just making excuses

Discipleship Avenue

Discipleship Avenue exists to Educate, Equip, and Empower our communities by providing strategic services and resources that meet their needs.

A journal of my faith, family and life

EdStetzer.com

Ed Stetzer writes and speaks on theology, missiology, church planting, church revitalization, and church innovation.

Notes from the Trail

Life, adventure and faith from southwest Virginia

Soul Health Care

Proclaiming Christ as the Great Physician of the Soul

