About my valentine

Pardon me while I participate in some holiday sappiness.  For you anti-mush people out there, click away now!

melissa.jpgJust over 9 years ago, Melissa and I met and quickly became “friends.”  You know the type, falling helplessly in love with one another while denying anything other than “friendship.” That was us.  In fact, I remember recieving my first Valentines’ Day card from her while we were “friends.”  (she was a little less shy than I was)

It was not very long after getting to know one another before I started thinking “she could be the one” but I was clueless that she was cautiously thinking the same thing.  It was an incredible time of mystery that drove me wild.   I was crazy about her, wanted to spend every waking minute with her, and didn’t mind talking on the phone with her until 3 am.

Then the Lord did something that forced us to recognize and affirm our love for one another.  The church where I was on staff was going through some pastoral and structural changes, and I was sensing it was time for me to move on.   However, I had this relationship that had not yet become romantic that I absolutely didn’t want to walk away from.  What do do?  I was a nervous wreck.   In a way that only God could orchestrate, our friendship quickly became more serious.   I was smitten!  How could I leave my position and move away while maintaining this relationship.  After all, I had always taught and had been taught that a couple shouldn’t rush into marriage (fools rush in, right?).  People even advised totally against the relationship, saying that I shouldn’t be getting involved with a woman who had been married before.

Better than setting the naysayers straight, I ignored them and made plans to marry my soulmate.   The one thing I regret in this time was that I did not formally propose (stupid, eh?).  We “discussed” getting married on a Sunday night, and began to plan a wedding.  The next morning while bringing a teen to youth camp, we spontaneously got married at a wedding chapel (read that whole story here).

Almost 9 years after marrying her, I’m still very much in love with her.  My heart leaps inside my chest when I wake up beside her every morning.   She’s the love of my life, my soulmate, and my best friend.    Who but God could bring this one woman, who is perfect for me, out of millions of others to me to be my wife?

From Shania Twain’s “You’re Still the One”
(When I first saw you, I saw love.
And the first time you touched me, I felt love.
And after all this time, you’re still the one I love.)

Looks like we made it
Look how far we’ve come my baby
We mighta took the long way
We knew we’d get there someday

They said, “I bet they’ll never make it”
But just look at us holding on
We’re still together still going strong

(You’re still the one)
You’re still the one I run to
The one that I belong to
You’re the one I want for life
(You’re still the one)
You’re still the one that I love
The only one I dream of
You’re still the one I kiss good night

Ain’t nothin’ better
We beat the odds together
I’m glad we didn’t listen
Look at what we would be missin’

One thought on “About my valentine

  1. mama judy says:

    Melissa told me to check out your website. It was wonderful. The things you say about Melissa makes a Mama proud. I’m so glad you found her and I’m proud to call you my son-in-law. Take care of her and my two beautiful and one handsome babies. Love you Mama Judy.

Comments are closed.

The Pastor's Desk

A Pastor's thoughts on life, church, God, & other stuff

social networking ate my blog

or probably I'm just making excuses

Discipleship Avenue

Discipleship Avenue exists to Educate, Equip, and Empower our communities by providing strategic services and resources that meet their needs.

A journal of my faith, family and life

EdStetzer.com

Ed Stetzer writes and speaks on theology, missiology, church planting, church revitalization, and church innovation.

Notes from the Trail

Life, adventure and faith from southwest Virginia

Soul Health Care

Proclaiming Christ as the Great Physician of the Soul

