A new thing

glasses.jpgIsaiah 43:19 (New International Version)

19 See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the desert
and streams in the wasteland.

God desires to do new things in and through us, so why would we desire to live a stagnant life? Sitting still and going nowhere, unfortunately, is what we tend to do. Is it because of complacency? Is it because of fear of new things?

I believe that this condition can be contributed many times to a lack of vision. Vision is the banks on a body of water that takes it from being a swamp to becoming a river. Vision is what gives us a perception that there is something more outside of where we sit. It is without vision that the Bible declares people perish (actually meaning to “cast off restraint and run wild”). Vision gives us clarity as to where we are going in this life.

Isaiah 60 – Amplified Bible

1ARISE [from the depression and prostration in which circumstances have kept you–rise to a new life]! Shine (be radiant with the glory of the Lord), for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you!

A year ago, my vision was limited by my circumstances. I couldn’t see my life or ministry going anywhere. Granted, I haven’t quite “arrived,” however there is new clarity to the direction my life is going. That’s when I had to seek God on the clear calling of my life, and make course corrections to apply vision to my life. I needed to do what the above scripture said and move in what God called me to do. So I sought the Lord. I prayed, I begged, I pleaded with God with what He wanted me to and where He wanted me to go. (anybody been there?)

Here we were, I was stuck working a job where it seemed as if all it was accomplishing was paying for insurance, the baby sitter, and our tithe. Melissa was stuck working on her feet up to 16 hours every day she worked to keep the lights on in the old salon and pay our bills. I had no idea how we could get out of what we were doing to do what God would lead us to do. So I decided that whatever door God cracked open I would be ready to run through it.

The answer began coming in February last year, and Melissa and I were in Kentucky for a special celebration with our pastor friends where we were on staff 3 years prior. We came into the church, and both started crying (Melissa thought she was the only one). God began to tug on our hearts – gently. We attended the various services over that weekend, then sat down to lunch with the pastors before heading home to the children, telling the pastors that God would have to move some big mountains including our salon in order for us to move when my phone rang. It was Jeff Noble. He had looked at our salon building and was interested in purchasing it. We had discussed it back and forth in the week before our trip, but nobody was really sure of anything. He called to tell me they were going to actively pursue the purchase. Although that particular transaction later did not happen, it was still one of the most timely phone calls I ever recieved. It told me that God was going to move the mountains, and not to worry about them. What I failed to mention here is that we never advertised our building for sale. We did have a price in mind, and settled in that it would be the deal making price.

When Jeff called me back a couple of weeks later to tell me that it wasn’t going to work out for them to purchase our building, at first my flesh was crushed. But my spirit was jumping for some reason! I got to my office, turned on some music, and there was Kurt Carr singing “it’s my time for God’s favor, It’s my time to be blessed” and I about came out of my chair! I felt the Spirit of the Lord rise up within me telling me that everything was in control. (you see, He had my best intrests, AND Journey’s best interests in mind with this situation).

It wasn’t 2 months later, again without advertising to sell (just to lease a storefront), we closed on the sale of our building at the price we settled in on!

After much rejoicing, we went on a family vacation. One of our stops was Kentucky for a few days. It was then that the excuses for not moving became excuses to move. I was still on the fence, Melissa was ready to pack. After getting back, and praying some more about it, and about the direction for our lives, I caught a guy on Christian TV (whom normally I would have turned off after a couple of minutes) who began to minister to me. He said the following statement: “When God calls you to a place, neither you or that place will reach it potential until you show up.”

I looked at Melissa and said “start packing!”

The Lord ministered to me when I was concerned about provision – He said “the provision is in the Go”. I said, “okay!”

Right now God is doing such a new thing in me. The vision laid before me has become so clear:

Proverbs 3:5-6 (King James Version)

5Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
6In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

